Response allows you to indicate your actions to an event. The response feature is only available from the eDispatches iPhone and Android application. You are able to set a response during a current alert/event and within the event window the account administrator has selected in the eDispatches portal.
When receiving an eDispatches alert, you may select from the following three responses:
Station: You are responding to your assigned station.
Scene: You are responding to the incident scene.
Unable: You are unable to respond.
How to Respond
Responding from the main menu
|Responding from the dashboard is the quickest way to respond. Select "Respond" directly from the alert card.|
|Response options will appear on the bottom of the screen. The total number of department responses will also appear to the right of each option.|
Responding from the map screen
|Additionally, you are also able to "Respond" from the map screen. The "Respond" button will only appear during active events. If the "Respond" button is greyed out, you are no longer able to indicate a response due to the event being expired.|
|Response options will appear on the bottom of the screen. The total number of department responses will also appear to the right of each option. You can change your response choice if your circumstances have changed so long as it is within the event window.|
|Individual response selections will appear below the alert screen. You may scroll down to see all the responses from from other department members. "Going to Scene" responses will appear first in the populated list. Responses will be sorted by the most recent time and are color coded by red to the scene and blue to the station.|
If you have multiple responses you can sort the responses by using the sort option. The default sort will show "ALL". You can tap "ALL" to change the sorting filter to show you specific responses.
Visual Response allows members the ability to share their location on the map as they respond. After selecting either "Going to Station" or "Going to Scene" members will appear on a map. You will see your other department members moving towards their destination. Once the event window has closed, all personnel will disappear from the map. Your location is only shared if you have selected a response.
How to appear on the map:
Your location will only appear on the map if you set your response to the following:
How to not appear on the map:
You will not appear on the map to others if you fail to make a selection or if you select:
iOS and Android users should make sure their app permission settings allow location sharing, in app, for this feature to work. For assistance with location permissions please refer to the following guide.